Fluency & Coherence

Speaker : 41
Gender : Female
IELTS Speaking Score : 6.5
IELTS Speaking Session: Part 1


E-examiner S-student
E: Now I am going to ask you some questions about yourself. Let’s start with what you do. Do you work or are you a student?
S: Thank you for your question. I’m currently a student, majoring in early childhood education in the Education University of Hong Kong. So, that’s my last year of being a student.

E: Why did you choose to study this subject?
S: I chose to study this subject because I found that I like to work with children since… when I was in secondary school. I participated in some voluntary work, having the chance to organize different kinds of activity for children. And so, from that, I realized that I would like to work with children as my career.

E: So, do you prefer studying in the morning or in the afternoon?
S: For me, I would say I prefer study in the morning because getting up early and start studying right away can have more time for me throughout the day. But if I start studying at afternoon after having my lunch, I would get tired and sleepy easily which will adversely affect my study progress.

E: Now, let’s talk about change. Do you like changes?
S: Personally, I s… I do not like changes because oftentimes when I face changes, I have to adapt it once again. But I know changes will… changes is good for us because I get to grow and learn from the process. Yes.

E: Are there any changes in your hometown?
S: I would say yes, there’s is currently a lot of changer in my hometown, which is Hong Kong. As you may know, the pandemic situation is very serious right now in Hong Kong. And so, there’re a lot of changes no matter on the ea… working or study mode or the, on the use of public transports. There are a lot of changes recently and all of us has to adopt to it. For example, you have to wear mask whenever you go, in the public area and when you are on the public transports.

E: Thank you. Um, have you changed a lot since your childhood?
S: I would say I did not change a lot since my childhood because when I was small, I was a very happy and outgoing person. And until now, I would say, I am still a very outgoing person. I enjoy hanging out with my friends rather than just staying at home, on my own. So, I guess, in terms of personality, I think I didn’t change quite a lot.

E: What do you plan to change in the next year?
S: So for the coming year, I plan to change the… my identity from students to become a employee because I’m getting graduated in June. So, in the next year, I, hopefully I’ll become a kindergarten teacher, a full-time kindergarten teacher in Hong Kong. Or I may be… also be studying as well, so depends on the results of the interview because I have d, applied for a master degree in Hong Kong as well.

E: Now, let’s talk about weekends. What do you usually do on the weekends?
S: Like what I have said before, I usually hang out with my friends. We always visit some different kinds of restaurants or coffee shops to have … to enjoy the food and have some chit-chats. And we also like to visits some workshops when we have free time.

E: Did you do anything special last weekend?
S: OK, I would say… I really did something special in the last weekend because, yeah, due to the rumors right now in Hong Kong, people are saying, people are saying that you… we will be getting lockdown very soon. So in the last weekend I went to the supermarket with my family to have some grocery shopping and make sure we have enough food and drinks and also toilet paper et cetera. It was kind a… kind of a quite special experience for me.

E: What will you do next weekend?
S: For the next weekend, I have , I’m planning to finish my honor project, which is my final year projects. So, I’m currently working on the thesis. I have to work, work on the discussion part how to make it more… make it better I would say. So, I’m plan to stay at home and work on my honor project.


Feature List

Fluency & Coherence

All / None